Get to Know Me

Hey y’all,

So I thought now would be a good time to share a little bit about myself.

I’m a 19 year old rising sophomore nursing student. I am a certified nursing assistant who works in people’s homes and I love it! I go to a college in Philadelphia, but I’m originally from NC. I’m a city girl with a country spirit. Like most people, I have a hard time being thankful for what I already have, so this blog is a way for me to share my joys, whatever they may be.

The most important thing to me is my family. Family and friends come first for me. Everything else is secondary.

I LOVE MOVIES! Oh my gosh watching movies is just amazing. I love it. I used to read a ton as a kid, but once I got ahold of a Netflix account and school became more time incentive I just don’t have time to sit down and read a book. A 2 hour movie, I can do. Ugh, I just love movies. I’m always on the search for my favorite movie.

I’m a cradle Catholic (meaning that I’ve been Catholic since birth) and am only now really taking an personal interest in my faith. I’m a passionate pro-lifer and a women’s health activist. I plan on eventually becoming a midwife and opening my own birth center. We shall see if that actually happens.

I’ve got curly brown hair (okay, right now it’s red but that is not my natural hair color) and bright green eyes. I’m short (around the 5’1″ range.) I’ve got semi oily skin with a dry patch here and there. I’ve got a lot of acne scars, large pores, uneven texture…the whole kit and caboodle. I’ve got straight eyelashes…the exact opposite of my hair. Does anyone understand how that works? But I have really gorgeous green eyes and a big smile so I work with what I got. 🙂

I’ve been doing makeup for quite a while now and ever since the beginning it has been an obsession. I cannot walk into a Walgreens, Target, CVS, Walmart, or anywhere that sells makeup without at least heavily browsing and most likely buying. I don’t wear makeup because I don’t feel pretty enough or anything of the sort, but I wear it because it is an art form. Rather than painting a beautiful portrait, I am the portrait. There is something about makeup that is mesmerizing. I use makeup to enhance, not cover.

Makeup is not the only beauty interest I have, however. I love to knit! Knitting is just a wonderful thing I use to keep my hands busy. I’m always more relaxed when I knit. I’m terrible at actually finishing projects.

I also practice yoga. I’ve been doing yoga on and off for about two years now. I’m working my way to more advanced poses, but I really just enjoy going through the motions. It’s one of the ways that I keep myself active and somewhat at peace.

I love to bake and I love to eat. I tend to be a girly girl but I try to let myself get dirty every once and a while. I always overdress and my favorite accessory is my smile.

My favorite book is Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh. I can’t really explain why, it just somehow reached me.

My favorite dessert is ice cream…or cheesecake. Now I can’t decide. I’ll go with both. I love sweets. I’m a big fan of chocolate. And food. I like food. Not salad, that isn’t food. I’m a fan of a delicious juicy steak…or a cheeseburger and fries….mmm now I’m hungry.

My favorite meal is breakfast. I hate days when I miss breakfast and I need me some eggs and coffee in the morning. I LOVE WAFFLES! Raise your hand if you agree….okay I can’t see you so just like instead 🙂

I’m a dancer. I love to sing. I used to act in high school. I loved it, but I think I kinda just grew out of it.

I’m a bit of a homebody, but I’d also like to think of myself as a free spirit. I’m not quite sure of who I am yet, but I’m excited to find out.

I hope that you enjoy this blog as you see me grow and learn. I’m very excited to share my thoughts and experiences with you. Just as a warning, I don’t want this blog to become a place for heated debates about Catholicism or any of my other views, however, if you have questions I’m more than willing to share what I know.

Thanks for visiting my blog and I hope to see you around here soon!

Leave any questions, comments, etc. below. Make sure to like this post and follow my blog.

Love,

Daisy

One thought on “Get to Know Me

Leave a Reply

