My Thoughts On My Freshman Year of College

Hey y’all,

So it is just about that time of year where school ends and summer begins (cue fanfare!) College has been a complete whirlwind of fun and stress and I just wanted to share my experience with y’all, especially you poor way-over-stressed high school seniors. I swear it gets better. I’m not really sure the best way to go about this, so if it s all over the place I apologize.

College is stressful. Don’t kid yourself. It is. You know it is. Especially as a nursing student. (I tell people that I’m in the school of nursing but my major is suicide…sad, but true.) 

Lessons I learned:

1) Don’t hide in your dorm room. I’m a pretty introverted person. I hate meeting new people. I hate small talk. I just…no. Bleh. I have my small friend group and that is all I need. For most of the first semester, I was pretty much always in my dorm room. I did go to a few club meetings, but aside from that…I was doing hw in my room watching Netflix. Now, I feel a little behind in the whole friend thing. So go out. Just say hi to people in your class. You might actually hit it off…you never no. Now is the time. So go for it.

2) Pester the hell out of your teachers…okay this doesn’t necessarily apply only to college. Just school in general. Your teachers are paid to teach you. So take advantage. Whenever you have a question, email them. If you have a problem with a grade, make sure they know it. Talk with them after class…even if it’s just about something random. (I’ve talked to my teachers about things like football before just so they know who I am.) One of my nursing friends actually recommended this tip to me. She said that she would bug them so much they would make sure she passed just so they could get rid of her. It sounds mean and terrible, but it will help you in the long run. Another thing I recommend doing, is that if you are having roommate issues, health problems, or something major going on at home that has you pretty stressed out TELL YOUR TEACHERS! You would be surprised that they would go out of their way to make sure you can handle it all. Life happens, your teachers know this. They may not give you an extension or anything like that, but if you aren’t paying attention in class, or just don’t give your all on an assignment they will know why and be more likely to grade a little less harshly.

3) If you don’t like your roommate, switch. Now personally, I did not have any trouble with my roommates. I actually love them. They are wonderful and I know that we will be besties for a long time. My one roommate, had a ton of roommate issues (they were just straight up mean to her) and it took her a while to switch because she felt bad, but in the end it really worked out for her. Remember, you have to live with this person. Your life is in your dorm room, and if you don’t feel comfortable in your room, that is a problem.

4) You are not going to be the best anymore. I hate to break it to you, but the days of straight A’s are over. (Unless you go to an easier school than I did or are just super smart.) High school and college are very different. For example, in HS I had a 98 out of 100 for my overall Chemistry grade for the year. In college, I am barely above a C. And boy am I proud of that C.

5) College food sucks. Accept it. Thank your mother/father for her/his awesome cooking skills and prepare to eat lots of junk food.

6) Be organized. I have two planners, a calendar, and a notebook all dedicated to keeping me from losing my mind. One planner is for all school assignments, the other is for my blog. My calendar is where I keep all my important events (my roomies and I also share a calendar. Best. Decision. Ever) My notebook is where I will write down my day by day breakdown. Find what works for you, and run with it. And every once and a while, just stop scheduling and live in the moment. It’s refreshing.

7) Keep your room clean. Maybe I’m just a neat freak….okay, I’m a neat freak. But whenever my room is clean, I feel much more put together. Put away your clothes. Make your bed. Keep your desk free of clutter (I have a small file holder where all my junk paper goes just so it isn’t spread all over my desk. Helps a ton.) And spray febreeze every once and a while.

8) Try new things. They don’t have to be totally out of your comfort zone, but something you never done before. For example, I’ve been a dancer all my life but I had never learned how to salsa so I joined the Latin Dance Team and ohmygoodness I love it.

9) You are poor. You are not going to be able to do everything. Some stuff you have to give up. Prioritize what you want to do, and make the most of it. Everything in school costs money whether its books (don’t even get me started) to formals to take out to club dues. It all adds up. Figure out what you want to do and set aside some money for it.

10) One of my friends said that if you have straight A’s in college, you are doing something wrong. (Not trying to bash those who do have straight A’s, just making a point.) College is not like HS. In HS, you live and breathe school. You spend 8-9 hours of your day, in the same place doing the same thing, you get home and you do the work dealing with those same things. It’s monotonous and straight up hellish. (Can you guys tell that I hated HS?) In College, you have school…and then you have life. It’s great. Only one year in and I love college. So just remember, that if all you are doing is college, you are missing something vital to the life of a college student. Yes, grades matter, but so does friendship, memories, and connections.

Leave any questions or comments below. Make sure to like this post, follow me on the rest of my college journey, and share the love.

Daisy

One thought on “My Thoughts On My Freshman Year of College

Leave a comment