My Skincare Routine

Hey y’all, I wanted to share my skincare routine with y’all. Hope you enjoy!

Background: Since the age of 12 I have been struggling with acne. 7 years under their reign, I have gone through many products and many different routines. I used to have super oily skin and incredibly painful cystic acne. Now I won’t say that I have perfect skin by any stretch of the imagination, but I have gotten it  to a place where I feel much more comfortable in my skin. Like most people that struggle with acne, I tried it all. Anything and everything. I tried things like Cetaphil to pretty much any Neutrogena product to African Black Soap and even tried some higher end brands like Murad. Nothing worked. At one point, I went to a dermatologist….never again. They were no help to me whatsoever. The hardest part for me was when I was put on medication for a kidney problem called nephrotic syndrome and it completely destroyed my face. (See picture below) Not only did it hurt a ton, but it was impossible to cover and very very traumatizing. I had never cried about my acne until that point. I went to see another dermatologist who attempted to help, but did nothing yet again. So I was stuck. What do I do? That’s when l (thanks to Pinterest) I stumbled upon the Oil Cleansing Method. Now before you run away or roll your eyes, let me just say that I’m not the most “green” or “au natural” kind of person, however! I absolutely love this method of cleansing your face. While everyone was going gaga over coconut oil, I was dipping my toes into the world of essential oils and carrier oils. I have been using this method for over a year now, and haven’t been disappointed yet. I went from severe cystic acne, dry patches, major oily face, and tears to moisturized skin, minimal acne and some scaring. I played around with a couple of different oils  during my journey, these included: coconut oil, olive oil, vitamin e oil, and something else which I can’t remember. I started out with the essential oil Tea Tree Oil.

This was how bad my acne was...with makeup. The medication also made my face super swollen. At one point I looked like a 5 month pregnant lady! Not a fun time for me. Anyways, you can see how far I've come now.

This was how bad my acne was…with makeup. The medication also made my face super swollen. At one point I looked like a 5 month pregnant lady! Not a fun time for me. Anyways, you can see how far I’ve come now. Sorry for the bad quality photo, it was taken through a window hehe

Ready for bed!

Ready for bed! As you can see I still have a lot of healing to do, but most of the red spots on my face are just scars/hyper-pigmentation. My face is actually not in its best state today, but I think that is either because I haven’t been getting enough sleep (sigh, college problems) or because I have started taking Biotin. Not sure yet. 

Disclaimer: Just because this works for my skin, does not mean that it will work for you. Everyone’s face is different and needs different things. For example, most people coconut oil does wonders to their face, to me it gives me the worst cystic acne.

File Apr 15, 9 05 46 PM

What I Use and the Why

Tea Tree Oil- has anti-bacterial properties that work wonders.

Castor Oil- you need what is called a carrier oil for this method. This is the one I chose. If you have dry skin use less of this as it will dry your face out. I have seen a ton of improvement in my blackheads because of this oil. It literally draws all of the impurities out of your face.

Oatmeal- this is a newer addition to my routine. I find that this works as a great gentle exfoliant and is a source of Vitamin E.

Witch Hazel- This is also a new addition to my routine, but I do find that it helps get any last bits of makeup off of my face.

A washcloth- TONS!

Vitamin E Oil- This stuff is the bomb-diggity. I love this stuff. Anytime I don’t use this, I break out a ton. I also find that this helps my eyelashes grow and it helps to reduce my acne scars

Grapeseed oil-This is just one of the oils I’m testing right now.

Aztec Magic Clay Mask- Great all natural mask that reduces acne

The Process:

Bedtime

1) Apply a mixture of grapeseed oil (see what works for you) and castor oil (carrier oil) and tea tree oil onto your face. I keep mine already mixed in a blue bottle which is supposed to keep the sunlight from making it go bad. Massage all over for 60 seconds. Make sure to get all that mascara off your beautiful eyelashes.

2) Heat up some water and get your washcloth wet. (You might want to wring it out too so you don’t get water everywhere.) Lay the washcloth on your face and dance for thirty seconds. This is my favorite part. It’s like I get transported to a spa every night. Repeat this up to three times (sometime I’m just too tired)

3) Wipe all the oil off of your face and smile big. You look great.

4) Tone your face. I use witch hazel, but use whatever suits your fancy.

5) Apply a generous amount of Vitamin E oil to your skin, lashes and lips. I use the excess to massage into my cuticles.

6) Go get you some sleep! It is the best thing you can do for your face.

Morning

I will say that I don’t always do this. I’m super lazy and my face usually feels great enough in the morning that I don’t see a point. However, it is super beneficial to my face to I do try to.

1) Take a teaspoons worth of oatmeal.

2) Get it slightly wet in your hands till it is kinda mushy.

3) Rub it all over your face.

4) Rinse

Done!

Weekend: On the weekends I use the Aztec Magic Clay. I just mix it with some apple cider vinegar and leave it on for 20-30 mins. My face feels wonderful afterwards and I see tons of improvement when I use it.

Someday’s my face looks better than others, but this has greatly improved the quality of my skin. I no longer have uncontrollable oil and dry patchy flakes. I still get some acne, but most of it is due to stress and that wonderful thing we call the menstrual cycle. I’m probably going to continue trying different oils, but this method will stay with me forever. Tips: You will know if an oil is good for/accepted by your skin if after massaging it you see that it is sinking in. If it just sits on top of your skin, it probably isn’t the best option for you. Get plenty of washcloths before you start this method. You will go through a ton.

Where I got some of my ideas from: http://www.lizmarieblog.com/2014/01/natural-skin-care-routine/#comment-55283

Leave any questions and comments below. Be sure to like this post, follow my blog, and share the love.

Daisy

2 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

  1. free games on says:

    fantastic put up, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector
    do not notice this. You should continue your writing. I
    am sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

    Like

Leave a Reply

