From Dark Brown to Pink: My Hair Dyeing Experience

Hey y’all,

I have never dyed my hair before, but it has always been a dream of mine to have pink hair. The idea was brought up recently when I broke up with my bf and I was joking about how I was gonna get over him by dyeing my hair pink and getting a belly button ring. Well…one of those has happened. Now I do want to preface by saying that I didn’t do it to get over him in the end. I did it for me. This is something I’ve always wanted and I just decided “what they hey! Why not go for it?” Because I’m a nursing student I won’t have a lot of opportunities to have crazy hair colors so now is the time. I waited about two months to make sure that this was actually something I wanted to do and I did tons of research. TONS! At first I just thought, ehI’ll slap some Manic Panic in my hair and leave it overnight to set, but because my hair is sooooooo dark I realized it really wouldn’t do much to my hair. I was super hesitant to bleach my hair for two reasons 1) it isn’t the best thing for your hair and can be super damaging if you aren’t careful 2) because my hair is so dark it would take multiple bleach sessions and the in between hair colors are just plain awful…so I kept looking. Finally, I stumbled upon this video by Samantha Vay. *cue choir of angels singing*

(Please let her know that I sent you if you end up watching her channel. Share the love 🙂

She showed a way that only involved bleaching your hair once that took hair from black to blonde. And so…I planned. I went back and forth with using Manic Panic’s pink color and Ion’s Rose Color. After seeing many a video I decided that Ion would be the way to go. The biggest reason was I just plain liked the color better, but both are great dyes.

Anyways…as you saw in my earlier post I got my supplies. This included:

L’Oreal Excellence HiColor in Ash Blonde x2

L’Oreal Quick Blue High Performance Powder Lightener (1oz)

Ion Demi 10NG in Lightest Natural Golden Blonde

Ion Color Brillance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color in Rose

Salon Care 30 Developer (32oz)

Proclaim Strengthening Intensive Hair Masque Packet x3 (All I’m doing is mixing it with the pink dye so I just got the cheapest conditioner which happened to be these, but whatever works)

I also got gloves, a mixing bowl, and a brush.

Alright, on to the actual process itself. I planned to use the L’Oreal High Lift Hair Color twice, then bleach my hair (EEEK!), put in some blonde hair color (since I’m not trying to go platinum) and then apply the pink mixed with conditioner.

THE WEEK BEFORE: Use a cleansing shampoo or vinegar and follow with deep conditioner. Stay away from heat tools.

1. Put on some gloves and an old t-shirt. Mix the L’Oreal High Lift Hair Color with about double the amount of developer (I eyeballed it)

2. Brush all those yucky knots out. See how dark my hair is?

3. Make funny/nervous/excited face and pray your hair doesn’t fall out

4. Start slapping it in. I started out with the brush but then got tired and started taking globs of the dye and running it through my hair. I had my sister check to make sure I hadn’t missed any spots.

5. Then let it sit for 30 minutes.

File Apr 06, 5 55 23 PM File Apr 06, 5 56 08 PM File Apr 06, 5 57 48 PM IMG_1277 IMG_1278 IMG_1279 IMG_1280 IMG_1283 IMG_1285 IMG_1287 IMG_1289

The first time I lifted my hair color I had auburn colored hair. I was going to wait a week till I did the second high lift, but I became impatient and ended up doing it two days later. The second time it was more of a caramel color. Both times it seemed kinda brassy to me, but not terrible.

Second time:

File Apr 08, 11 46 54 AM

Sorry for the crappy photo, you get the gist 😛

For the bleach process I got my roommate to help. ❤ I waited a few days and the night before I coated my entire head in coconut oil.

Sadly, it turned out really patchy. I was not a happy camper. I think that I just didn’t wait long enough, but even then my hair would have been different colors….so I’m not sure what happened. It didn’t dry my hair out so I was happy about that, but that was about the extent of my enjoyment in the bleaching process.

Later that day I put in the Ion Blonde Hair Color to cut down on the brassiness. It helped…but not a ton. At this point I was kinda annoyed. Everything had been going well so far. The worst was yet to come.


File Apr 12, 1 02 02 PM
File Apr 12, 1 02 18 PMFile Apr 12, 1 02 35 PMFirst photo: Before blond hair color

Second photo: The dying process

Third photo:  The result. Yes, I woke up like this. I am literally the worst at taking selfies. My apologies.

I put in the pink hair color the next morning…total letdown. None of it took. My hair ended up only more brassy then before, and the patches that bleached faster were only more visible. Even they didn’t turn pink. My guess is that the blond color prevented the pink from being absorbed into my hair, but I really don’t know.

File Apr 12, 1 02 49 PMThis is with the pink hair color in.

So at this point, I’m not sure what to do with my hair. It is still really healthy, but I’m just not loving the look. I could either bleach it some more and then put pink in it, or call it a day and put bright red in. What do you guys think?

*TIPS*

Don’t dye freshly washed hair. All times I had 2nd or 3rd day old hair. 

When bleaching, do roots last. 

The night before bleaching, slather in coconut oil and leave it while bleaching. It will make your hair soft and lessen the amount of damage.

Places I got Tips:

Pinterest. Duh.

http://www.xovain.com/hair/coconut-oil-hair-bleaching

 

Daisy

One thought on “From Dark Brown to Pink: My Hair Dyeing Experience

Leave a Reply

